PET Competence

Our market-proven coating system FreshSafe PET® reliably protects premium beverages against loss of freshness and quality and makes their shelf lives up to ten times longer.

Only from KHS: freshness protection which is 100% bottle-to-bottle recyclable

The FreshSafe PET® coating system provides convincing freshness and quality protection for juices, carbonated beverages, wine or sauces and dressings in PET bottles, for instance. The system also facilitates full bottle-to-bottle recyclability.

In FreshSafe PET® KHS combines the advantages of PET and glass bottles in one, offering market-proven plant engineering for customers with particularly high requirements regarding quality and sustainability. A wafer-thin protective layer of silicon oxide (SiOx) or chemically pure glass finishes the inner wall of the PET container, thus forming an effective barrier: aroma and carbon dioxide are retained while at the same time oxygen is prevented from penetrating the bottle resulting in no loss of vitamins or taste.

The coating process not only provides long-term product protection and crystal-clear bottles; it also completely does away with the need for additives and therefore enables PET bottles to be fully recycled. With these features KHS is specifically supporting its customers’ efforts to use environmentally-friendly packaging and keep packaging materials in circulation for as long as possible.

Maximum freshness protection, long shelf lives and lower overall costs

FreshSafe PET® protects sensitive products such as fruit juices and nectars just as reliably as carbonated beverages. The freshness and taste are retained while the shelf life is considerably lengthened. It is therefore also worth using the barrier system, for example, when small bottles (holding less than 500 ml) have to travel long distances and are subjected to changing climatic conditions.

Investing in FreshSafe PET® technology pays off thanks to lower operating costs and a number of further economic benefits. With FreshSafe PET® bottlers can switch to less expensive standard PET preforms, for instance. In order that each customer can study the advantages for themselves, KHS provides a customized total cost of ownership calculation based on the use of barrier technology.

Pure PET for reuse – official recognition

Fruit juice bottles in particular often contain multilayer, blended or scavenger additives. These protect sensitive beverages from external influences yet often prevent pure-grade recycling of the PET material. With FreshSafe PET® KHS provides the only fully recyclable barrier system currently available. In the recycling process the glass coating is simply washed off by the caustic in a standard procedure. This produces pure, separated PET which can be fully recycled. Using this method PET bottles made of recyclate can also be coated without restriction.

This unique recyclability is acknowledged by the Association of Plastic Recyclers (APR) label, among others (more in our press release on the subject).  In its design guidelines the European PET Bottle Platform (EPBP) also describes KHS’ transparent SiOx coating technology as the only fully compatible barrier technology for PET bottles.

„A product is only successful when it solves a relevant problem. With FreshSafe PET® we have created an environmentally-friendly and cost-efficient system which combines sustainability with the best possible product protection.“
„A product is only successful when it solves a relevant problem. With FreshSafe PET® we have created an environmentally-friendly and cost-efficient system which combines sustainability with the best possible product protection.“

Bernd-Thomas Kempa, Head of Global Account Management Plasmax Barrier Technology

Benefits of FreshSafe PET®


Product protection

The wafer-thin layer of glass reliably protects sensitive products or carbonated beverages against loss of freshness and quality – and thus makes a major contribution to the protection of the environment. For the more reliable the product protection, the lower the amount of food wasted.

Shelf life

With FreshSafe PET® no unwanted substances enter the PET bottle from the outside – and valuable ingredients such as vitamins cannot escape. In this way the innovative technology can make product shelf lives up to ten times longer.

Bottle-to-bottle recyclability

With FreshSafe PET® KHS provides the only fully recyclable barrier system currently available on the market. This has been confirmed by a number of recycling associations such as the EPBP and APR.

Flexible application

The product protection provided by FreshSafe PET® makes the PET container with its diverse inherent advantages – such as low weight and unbreakability – a particularly intelligent form of packaging. Not only beverages profit from FreshSafe PET® but also sauces and dressings, preserved foods and, last but not least, small containers holding less than 500 ml.

Cost/benefit ratio

Investing in this innovative technology pays off relatively quickly: bottlers can switch to less expensive standard PET preforms and the overheads at the plant fall, so that the total cost per bottle is actually lower.

Recyclate coating

FreshSafe PET® barrier technology is also suitable for coating PET bottles made of recyclate (rPET) and for biodegradable containers. This means that the barrier system scores on sustainability not just once but twice.

Questions about our products and services?

Service

Andreas Klages
KHS Corpoplast GmbH
Sales Plasmax Barrier-Technology
Phone +49 40 67907 466
andreas.klages[at]khs.com

PET-Kompetenz

Unser markterprobtes Beschichtungssystem FreshSafe-PET® schützt Premiumgetränke zuverlässig gegen Frische- und Qualitätsverlust und macht sie bis zu zehnmal länger haltbar.

Nur von KHS: Der Frischeschutz, der zu 100 Prozent Flasche-zu-Flasche recycelbar ist

Das Beschichtungssystem FreshSafe-PET® bietet überzeugenden Frische- und Qualitätsschutz etwa für Säfte, karbonisierte Getränke, Wein oder Saucen und Dressings in PET-Behältern. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht die Lösung 100 Prozent Flasche-zu-Flasche Recyclingfähigkeit.

Mit FreshSafe-PET® vereint KHS die Vorteile der PET- und Glasflasche und bietet eine markterprobte Lösung für Kunden mit besonderen Qualitäts- und Nachhaltigkeitsansprüchen. Eine hauchdünne Schutzschicht aus Siliziumoxid (SiOx), chemisch reinem Glas, veredelt die Innenwand der PET-Behälter und bildet so eine wirkungsvolle Barriere: Aromen oder Kohlensäure bleiben erhalten, während gleichzeitig verhindert wird, dass Sauerstoff eintritt und damit Vitamine und Geschmack verloren gehen.

Das Beschichtungsverfahren sorgt dabei nicht nur für langanhaltenden Produktschutz und glasklare Optik. Es ersetzt zudem vollständig die sonst nötigen Additive und ermöglicht so eine hundertprozentige Recycelbarkeit der PET-Behälter. Damit unterstützt KHS ganz konkret die Bestrebungen seiner Kunden, umweltschonende Verpackungen einzusetzen und Verpackungsmaterial so lange wie möglich im Umlauf zu halten.

Höchster Frischeschutz, lange Haltbarkeit und geringere Gesamtkosten

FreshSafe-PET® schützt sensible Produkte wie Fruchtsäfte und Nektare ebenso zuverlässig wie kohlensäurehaltige Getränke. Frische und Geschmack bleiben erhalten, während gleichzeitig die Haltbarkeit um ein Vielfaches verlängert wird. So eignet sich der Einsatz der Barrierelösung beispielsweise auch dann, wenn kleine Flaschen (unter 500 ml) weite Transportwege zurücklegen müssen und wechselnden klimatischen Bedingungen ausgesetzt sind.

Dabei amortisiert sich die Investition in die FreshSafe-PET®-Technologie sowohl durch die sinkenden Kosten im Betrieb als auch aufgrund einer Reihe weiterer ökonomischer Vorteile. Abfüller können beispielweise auf kostengünstigere Standard-PET-Preforms umsteigen. Damit sich jeder Kunde hierzu ein umfassendes Bild machen kann, bietet KHS seinen Kunden eine individuelle Gesamtkostenbetrachtung für den Einsatz der Barrieretechnologie an.

Sortenreines PET zur Wiederverwertung – offiziell anerkannt

Insbesondere Saftflaschen beinhalten in vielen Fällen Multilayer-, Blend- oder Scavenger-Additive. Diese Zusätze schützen zwar sensitive Getränke vor äußeren Einflüssen, verhindern jedoch häufig eine sortenreine Wiederaufbereitung des PET-Materials. Mit FreshSafe-PET® bietet KHS die derzeit einzige voll recycelbare Barrierelösung. Im Recyclingprozess wird die Glasbeschichtung nämlich im Standardverfahren durch die Lauge einfach abgewaschen. Auf diese Weise liegt anschließend sortenreines, vollständig wiederverwertbares PET vor. Auch die Beschichtung von PET-Flaschen aus Rezyklat ist mit diesem Verfahren uneingeschränkt möglich.

Die einzigartige Recyclingfähigkeit wird unter anderem durch das Label der Association of Plastic Recyclers (APR) bestätigt (mehr dazu in unserer Pressemitteilung zum Thema).
Auch die European PET Bottle Platform (EPBP) beschreibt in ihren Design-Guidelines die transparente SiOx-Beschichtungstechnologie für PET-Flaschen als einzige voll kompatible Barrieretechnologie.

„Ein Produkt ist nur dann erfolgreich, wenn es ein relevantes Problem löst. Mit FreshSafe-PET® haben wir eine umweltfreundliche und kosteneffiziente Lösung erschaffen, die Nachhaltigkeit mit dem bestmöglichen Produktschutz kombiniert.“
„Ein Produkt ist nur dann erfolgreich, wenn es ein relevantes Problem löst. Mit FreshSafe-PET® haben wir eine umweltfreundliche und kosteneffiziente Lösung erschaffen, die Nachhaltigkeit mit dem bestmöglichen Produktschutz kombiniert.“

Bernd-Thomas Kempa, Head of Global Account Management Plasmax Barrier Technology

Vorteile von FreshSafe-PET®


Produktschutz

Die hauchdünne Glasschicht schützt sensible Produkte oder karbonisierte Getränke zuverlässig vor Frische- und Qualitätsverlust – und trägt damit wesentlich zum Umweltschutz bei. Denn je zuverlässiger der Produktschutz, desto geringer die Lebensmittelverschwendung.

Haltbarkeit

Durch FreshSafe-PET® gelangen keine unerwünschten Stoffe von außen in die PET-Flasche hinein – und wertvolle Bestandteile wie Vitamine können nicht austreten. Auf diese Weise macht die innovative Technologie die Produkte bis zu zehnmal länger haltbar.

Flasche-zu-Flasche-Recyclingfähigkeit

Mit FreshSafe-PET® bietet KHS die derzeit einzige voll recycelbare Barrierelösung im Markt. Das bestätigen mehrere Recyclingverbände wie die EPBP oder APR.

Einsatzvielfalt

Der Produktschutz von FreshSafe-PET® macht PET-Behälter mit ihren inhärenten Vorteilen – wie geringes Gewicht und Bruchsicherheit – zu einer besonders intelligenten Verpackungslösung. Von FreshSafe-PET® profitieren nämlich nicht nur Getränke, sondern auch Saucen oder Dressings, Konserven und nicht zuletzt auch kleine Behälter (unter 500 ml).

Kosten-Nutzen

Die Investition in die innovative Technologie macht sich vergleichsweise schnell bezahlt: Abfüller können auf günstigere Standard-PET-Preforms umsteigen, wodurch die Ausgaben im Betrieb sinken, sodass die Kosten pro Flasche insgesamt sogar geringer sind.

Rezyklatbeschichtung

Die Barrierelösung von FreshSafe-PET® ist auch für die Beschichtung von PET-Behältern aus Rezyklat (rPET) sowie für biologisch abbaubare Behälter geeignet. So punktet die Barrierelösung in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit gleich doppelt.

Fragen zu unseren Produkten und Serviceleistungen?

Service

Andreas Klages
KHS Corpoplast GmbH
Vertrieb Plasmax Barriere-Technologie
Telefon +49 40 67907 466
andreas.klages[at]khs.com